top of page
live in matsuyama_CD cover_web.jpg


‘Live in Matsuyama’ is a result of circumstance. It was not a planned recording, but occurrences arranged themselves to produce this fortuitous outcome. In early December 2019, the rhythm section of pianist Simon Nabatov, bassist Takashi Seo and drummer Darren Moore were set to engage in a nine-city Japan tour with saxophonist Akira Sakata. Unfortunately, Sakata missed the first three shows due to unforeseen circumstances and ’Live in Matsuyama’ documents the third and final trio performance. The recording is marked by intuitive communication that wheels from state to state with restless motion. Nabatov, Seo and Moore move as if a single entity producing murmurations of sound; darting fluid formations that arise and dissipate with virtuosic agility.

​Available on BandCamp as a digital download and CD.

TOD3_Mirror Lake_digital.png


The Tim O'Dwyer Trio make their debut on LaoBan Records with Mirror Lake. The album is the third release by the Australian free jazz trio and their first live album recorded at the famous Loft in Cologne in 2014. Mirror Lake removes the shackles from the compositionally-driven material on previous albums Broken River (2006) and Falconry (2011) to unleash their ecstatic nature in all its free jazz glory. The trio performs completely improvised pieces that sound like fully formed nuanced and powerful compositions. Mirror Lake reflects the trio's long partnership going back to 2005 through stunning interplay between the rhythm section of Darren Moore (drums) and Clayton Thomas (bass) and masterful sonic manipulation by Tim O'Dwyer on alto and baritone sax.

Available on BandCamp as a digital download. 

GOP_The Bad Sleep Well_front cover


The Bad Sleep Well is the debut release from South-East Asia free improvisation group Game of Patience. Originally independently produced as a vinyl-only release sold at gigs, this re-issue sees the album digitally available for the first time on LaoBan Records with a limited run of 50 copies available. 

The self-proclaimed ‘noise-jazz’ album builds on the foundation of free jazz protocols to create sweeping shards of harsh noise and driving rhythmic propulsion. Saxophonist Yong Yandsen and drummer Darren Moore act as counterweights to the sonic onslaught brought about by Brian O’Reilly’s contra-bass and electronics. Its not for the faint hearted, keep your defibrillators close.

​Available on BandCamp as a limited edition of 50 vinyl and digital download

Home: News


Boss Sounds

LaoBan Records is an independent Malaysian experimental music label. The label focuses on releasing improvised experimental music and serves to document a group of artists who have performed and developed together through exchanges made within South East Asia and beyond.

Home: About
bottom of page